Cnwl1's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

A Pause in the Day’s Occupations …

leave a comment »

“All work and no play … ” We’ve all heard that line before, primarily because it’s so true. During the last eight days of June, I indulged in a bit of play north of the border, accompanied by my mother, my siblings, and their families. Those members of my family who reside in the southern part of the U.S. met me a few days early in Toronto, then we went south to Niagara Falls to connect up with my fellow New England-based family members. Here we are, en masse, preparing to board “The Maid of the Mist” and tour the Falls:

The Not-So-Dirty Dozen

It was perhaps not always easy for everyone — my family is spread out over four different states, and everyone lives his own life, with his own schedule and set of priorities. Yet everyone also accommodated — and more importantly, everyone found time to spend time with everyone else, to relax and talk and catch up and share a few laughs along the way.

So, in the final analysis, I believe it was a very good trip, indeed, one we’ll all look back upon with fondness.

In sadder news, my industry lost two great souls, both at age 84, within days of one another. Only hours before my departure for Toronto, I learned that 1950s BATMAN artist and award-winning filmmaker Lew Sayre Schwartz  had left us; my personal tribute to Lew is available at www.libraryofamericancomics.com, with the industry’s memoriam of record on-line at http://www.tcj.com/lew-sayre-schwartz-1926-2011/. In addition, noted Marvel and DC Comics artist Gene Colan passed away; my good friend and Colan biographer Tom Field provided this overview of Gene’s life and career: http://www.tcj.com/gene-colan-1926-2011-%E2%80%9Cfor-me-it%E2%80%99s-a-ride-that-didn%E2%80%99t-enter-my-mind-would-ever-happen-%E2%80%9D/.

If you can spare a moment to offer up good wishes to both Lew and Gene on their continued journeys, you’ll have brightened the day for us all.

Written by cnwl1

July 3, 2011 at 3:23 pm

Posted in Miscellaneous

Leave a Reply

