Cnwl1's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Worthy Projects

with one comment

I don’t often shill other projects or products beyond our own efforts at The Library of American Comics. These days we’re all inundated by “the sell” and often it seems everyone is hustling something. Those survey folks hate me, because I invariably answer those, “How likely are you to recommend <insert name here> to your friends?” questions with, “Extremely Unlikely.” My friends are all big boys and girls; they know how to make up their own minds, they don’t need me chirping in their ears.

But just to prove there are exceptions to every rule …

Old pal Jason Sacks of the Comics Bulletin (www.comicsbulletin.com) has launched a Kickstarter campaign to fund a brand-new Sabre graphic novel by Don McGregor (writer) and Trevor Von Eeden (artist), and while what I know about Kickstarter wouldn’t fill a thimble, this is well worth your attention. As a boy, McGregor’s work at Marvel helped shape my view of what comics could be; his original Sabre graphic novel helped restore my flagging interest in comics when I was a very young man, and thus played a key role in putting me where I am today. Down through the years Don has become a cherished acquaintance whose irrepressible nature always buoys my spirits. Though I’ve never met or communicated with Trevor Von Eeden, he’s a fellow Batman alum whose senses of design and composition have impressed me in his work on the Dark Knight and the cult favorite, Thriller. So, bottom line: this strikes me as something well worth supporting, and if you’d like to know more, please visit the project’s homepage/pledge-page, at: http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/jsacks/sabre-graphic-novel-by-don-mcgregor-and-trevor-von.

And if that’s not enough hardsell for one entry, I’ll refer you to the homepage for one of my oldest, dearest friends, Doug Thornsjo, who is selling his self-published novel, story collection, and comics in a vertically-integrated enterprise located at: http://www.ducksoup.me/. Doug’s novel of Depression-era American traveling theatre is a smartly-designed package that showcases the confident and affecting story. But you don’t have to take my word for it: read this review, at:

http://guiltlessreading.blogspot.ca/2013/07/persephones-torch-novel-in-three-acts.html

What do Don and Doug both have in common? They’re writers who genuinely believe in the worth of the scrawl, and genuinely care about giving their audiences quality entertainment. If those are the sorts of creators you wish to support, well, you have the links …

 

 

Written by cnwl1

August 11, 2013 at 8:35 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I am a long-time fan of both Don McGregor’s writing and Trevor Von Eeden’s artwork, and I definitely wish them the best of success with their Kickstarter fundraiser. I’m really looking forward to their Sabre graphic novel.


Leave a Reply

